Independent Review Committee

All mutual fund companies in Canada must maintain an independent review committee (IRC) to consider conflicts of interest that can arise from mutual fund management.

James B. Rooney, Q.C.

James B. Rooney, Q.C. is legal counsel with Dentons Canada LLP. Mr. Rooney is a graduate of the University of Western Ontario and earned his Law Degree from Dalhousie University (1970). His practice is primarily based on securities litigation and regulation issues. He represents three national investment banks on litigation and regulatory issues, has chaired Alberta Securities Commission inquiries and has previously been a public member of the Investment Dealers Association (now IIROC).

Michael P. Robinson, C.M.

Michael J. Robinson C. M. is the CEO of the Bill Reid Trust and Director of the Bill Reid Gallery of Northwest Coast Art in Vancouver. He is also the principal of Michael Robinson Consulting, a management practice advising boards and senior management in the cultural sector.  Mike attended Oxford University as a Rhodes Scholar, and has degrees in law and anthropology. During his 30 year career history in Calgary, Mike was a senior regulatory compliance officer in the oil patch, a professor and research institute director at the University of Calgary and CEO and President of the Glenbow Museum. In 2004 he became a Member of the Order of Canada.

Ian T. Brown, BSc, P.Geol, ICD.D

Ian T. Brown, BSc, P.Geol, ICD.D is the Chairman of the Board for Nuance Energy Ltd., which is an exploration company. Most recently, he was the exploration advisor and a director of TUSK Energy Corporation, up until its takeover by Polar Star on April 9, 2009. Ian started his career in April 1970 with The Texaco Exploration Company in Calgary. Since then he has worked for a number of exploration and production companies of various sizes in the junior sector such as Midas Resources Ltd. (1992 to 1998), Petrorep Resources Ltd. (1998 to 2000) and TUSK Energy Inc. (2000 to 2004). From November 2004 to November 2005, Ian was the President and Chief Executive Officer of TUSK Energy Corporation and the Vice President Exploration of TKE Energy Trust.